Interval scale refers to the level of measurement in which the attributes composing variables are measured on specific numerical scores or values and there are equal distances between attributes. The distance between any two adjacent attributes is called an interval, and intervals are always equal.

There are four scales of measurement, which include nominal, ordinal, interval, and ratio scales. The ordinal scale has logically rank-ordered attributes, but the distances between ranked attributes are not equal or are even unknown. The equal distances between attributes on an interval scale differ from an ordinal scale. However, interval scales do not have a “true zero” point, so statements about the ratio of attributes in an interval scale cannot be made. Examples of interval scales include temperature scales, standardized tests, ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles